What happens when I first ask to join a community?
When you first ask to join a community, your membership will be "pending" in the community until an admin reviews your request. You may able to browse for items, comment and post items for sale. Your comments and posts will become visible once you get approved (and your items will be bumped to the top of the feed)
You may notice the other member names are not fully displayed. This is because you haven't been accepted as a member of the community yet, so we truncate member names for privacy. Once you have been approved, you'll be able to view full member names.
Although most admins approve members within 48 hours or so, sometimes that can take a bit longer in some busier communities, over the weekend, or during a holiday. If you've been pending for more than a few days you can get in touch with your community's admin.
On our mobile apps
When you join a community, you'll get a message that your membership request is pending:
You'll also see your status on your community list and and at the top of the community page.
While pending you'll see a banner at the top of the page letting you know.